Social Security Administration Adds to Compassionate Allowances List

SSA has announced twelve additional Compassionate Allowances, including several for cardiac patients.  The Compassionate Allowances process quickly identifies diseases and other medical conditions that, by definition, meet SSA’s standard for disability benefits.

Impairments on SSA’s list of Compassionate Allowances are those that provide almost a 100% guarantee that the person will be found disabled.  Compassionate Allowances cases retain priority status on appeal and receive expedited processing.

The twelve new Compassionate Allowances conditions are:

  • Aortic Atresia
  • Eisenmenger Syndrome
  • Endomyocardial Fibrosis
  • Heart Transplant Graft Failure
  • Heart Transplant Wait List – 1A/1B
  • Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome
  • Left Ventricular Assist Device (LVAD) Recipient
  • Mitral Valve Atresia
  • Primary Cardiac Amyloidosis
  • Pulmonary Atresia
  • Single Ventricle
  • Tricuspid Atresia