Am I Eligible For Social Security Disability – Part 3

In part 3 of our 5 part series, we are discussing the process you must go through to be approved for social security disability benefits.  We’ve already discussed the first two steps, which address working and the severity of your impairment.  In this series, we will discuss step 3 of the sequential evaluation process which addresses whether your medical condition meets or equals a listed impairment by the Social Security Administration.  The 5 step sequential evaluation process is noted below for reference:

  1. Are you currently working?  Does your impairment prevent you from performing substantial gainful activity?
  2. Is your condition severe?
  3. Does your medical condition meet or equal a listed impairment?
  4. Can you perform your past work?
  5. Can you do any other type of work?

Step 3

Quite simply, if your condition meets or equals a listed impairment, you will be awarded benefits.  So if your condition is not on the list, does that mean you will be denied?  Not necessarily.  If  your medical condition does not meet or equal one of the listed impairments, it means you must be evaluated under steps 4 and 5 to be awarded benefits.  Steps 4 and 5 address your prior work history and whether you could potentially transition to other types of work if applicable.

In the next series, we will discuss step 4, “Can you perform past work?”